back from hiatus: blowing up the blog

I’ve been on hiatus.
Not just from the blog but from DEALING.
Back in September, we tried to buy a house. The American dream. Every body does it. Except us, apparently. Because after five weeks under contract we found out our financing was not going to go through, citing the reason that Not The Mama had not been in his job long enough. We were attempting a type of loan where you do not have to have any money down. (Isn’t that amazing?!) I will try not to get into how I DO NOT UNDERSTAND how people EVER have enough to put 10 or 20% down. I mean, whoa!
Anyway, it fell through. It was rough. I see now the reasons and I’m actually glad it happened. (Yes I just said that.) But it was rough. We had made grande plans, turned in a notice to leave our rental of three years and packed 90% of our life in boxes, ordered new address labels…the works. This was our first time in homeownershipland or almost-homeownershipland and it was full of important lessons.

As it turns out, we had to move anyway and we landed in a friend’s gorgeous renovated farmhouse on the Watauga River. We truly, truly could not have asked for a greater blessing than staying here for a few months. It has been healing, in the best of ways, in so many ways. I do not know what the future holds, I do not know where we live 5 weeks from now. I do not know what is coming down the road. But I am choosing to trust in the Lord….while I sip my coffee and gaze at the mountains. It doesn’t get much better, folks.

IMG_0401

Leave a comment