Sewing Sheaves

(She) who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with (her). Psalm 126:6

I don’t know how long you’ve known me to know my special feelings about sheaves. (Which, come to think of it, makes very little sense in the physical considering my inability to eat wheat.) But no matter, the verses have never left my heart. 

And so when it came time to choose a name for my current undertaking, I knew it was where I had to land once more. 

See, my husband has had a major paycut at work and it’s sent us on another financial tail-spin. Just when we think we have things well in hand, well, we find ourselves surprised once again. We are ever reminded that the things of earth are passing away and what is truly important is the eternal. But in the meantime, we must pay rent and buy groceries. 

As we sow in this time of difficulty, we trust there will come a time of rejoicing. 

As a home educator and being fiercely dedicated to continuing on in this way, options to help out financially are limited. (Can I get a hollar, stay at home moms?) I even looked for evening jobs and had no luck. A friend suggested to me I try to sell a few baby quilts like the one I made for my adorable little friend Greta earlier this year.

And here we are.

 I’m sewing in the sowing. Sowing hope. Sowing trust. Sowing patience. Sewing sweet lovies. 

So this weekend I launched an Etsy shop. I will be selling baby quilts that are unique- they are created using out-of-the-box 100% cotton fabrics (not necessarily “baby” fabrics) and thus far, no two are the same. The truth is I will make the quilts at cost in order to keep them affordable and the labor costs are just considered part of my labor of love to my family. It’s an honor to be able to help my hard-working husband in this difficult time. I also am selling burp cloths made from pre-folded disposable diapers and 100% cotton fabrics. They are pretty cute. Soon I will add in two-sided cotton and flannel receiving blankets (I love them). And the little quilts I’m working on will be added weekly as I finish them (they take some time.) I am a complete novice when it comes to Etsy so wish me luck!!! 





Come visit my shop! Message me with any questions! https://www.etsy.com/shop/SewingSheaves

5 thoughts on “Sewing Sheaves

  1. Hey Rachel! I just shared your shop and a link to your blog on FB. I hope that’s okay with you? I miss you! And I enjoy the window into your family’s life on the blog.

Leave a Reply

